How to Block Someone on Venmo: Protect Payments (2023)

Written By Branson Knowles

Our favorite payment and transfer apps aren’t perfect. Sometimes, unfortunately, we come across people that we need to block. This is especially pertinent for Venmo, as out of all of the fintech companies, they’re the ones that focus on a social aspect the most. So, how do you block someone on Venmo?

To block someone on Venmo, click on Their Profile and head to Their Profile’s Page. From there, you’ll want to click the Three Dots in the upper right hand corner and then click Block.

Once you block someone on Venmo, they shouldn’t be able to reach out to you either to send a transfer or request one. I’ve had to block people on Venmo in the past; if there’s ever anyone harassing you on a fintech app like Venmo, use the block button liberally.

To state the obvious, the block button is free and you should be able to block as many people on Venmo as you want. You can unblock someone from the Venmo account as well.

If you don’t want to just block someone, you can also report them. When you click on the three dots in the upper right hand corner of someone’s profile, you can block them, and you can also report them.

Venmo states that they don’t want any of their customers or users to come across inappropriate content while using their app, but if they do they should use the report button right away.

The report button brings issues to Venmo’s attention and allows them to fix the situation, either by reaching out to the user in question or banning them altogether. 

When you report someone on Venmo, you use a form from the parent company Paypal to let Venmo in on the situation. As soon as you’re finished filling out the form, email it to Venmo and they’ll handle the rest. 

[lasso rel=”pxf” id=”10713″]

How to Block Someone on Venmo (Step-by-Step)

Blocking someone on Venmo is easy, I’ll even break it down in some easy to follow steps for you:

  1. Open the Venmo app: If you want to block someone on the Venmo, the best place to start is the app. Find the app on your phone and open it.

  1. Find the profile you want to block: To block someone on Venmo, you need to head to their account. Find their account if you want to block them. If you have a transaction with them, you should be able to find them in your transaction history. If not, you could probably find them in the search bar through the Pay and Request portion of the app.

finding an account to block someone

  1. Click on their profile: Once you’ve found their profile, click on it to head to their profile page. Once you’re in their profile’s page, click on the three dots in the upper right hand corner of the screen.

checking someones venmo profile

  1. Click Block: When you first click block, a confirmation screen will pop up. Venmo knows that your finger can slip from time to time and doesn’t want you to accidentally block anyone, so they make you click through a confirmation screen to make sure you want to block the user in question.

venmo app blocking

The confirmation screen goes over what will happen if you really do block the person you want to block: the person won’t be notified, they won’t be able to pay you and you won’t be able to pay them, you won’t be able to view or interact with each other profiles, and finally you won’t be able to mention each other on Venmo.

Finally, the screen says that if you want to unblock the user, you can from settings in the privacy tab.

venmo privacy block

The blocked person won’t be notified either. 

The ability to block someone is an important feature, even for a fintech company like Venmo. I would never have thought that it would be a feature I would use, but I did.

Several months ago, I received a Venmo transfer from someone I didn’t know.

Normally I would never accept a transfer from a stranger, but Venmo accepts transfers automatically, even if the two users aren’t friends with each other (a huge reason I stay away from Venmo).

This person then messaged me, claiming that they had sent me the money by mistake and requesting a refund. This is a common scam, so I ignored her request and reported her to Venmo. 

Venmo was less than helpful and suggested I refund the lady myself.

Not wanting to be part of a scam, I refused. Eventually, people claiming to be the lady’s family members found my personal Facebook and Instagram accounts and began to bombard me with messages.

I reached out to Venmo once more, letting them know how far the situation had gone under their negligence.

They then reviewed the transaction and reversed it themselves. I went ahead and blocked everyone who was trying to harass me.

If you ever find yourself in a similar situation, block the person in question. Don’t fall victim to a scam.

Will Someone Know if I Block Them on Venmo?

The beauty of blocking someone on Venmo is that the person you block will never know.

Venmo will never notify them that they’ve been blocked, they just won’t be able to see your account or profile anymore.

When you block someone, you’ll be able to see the dollar amounts of your transfers with that user, but you won’t be able to see the text that initially came along with it. 

You can unblock blocked Venmo users from the settings, but until you do that, they will stay blocked forever. The blocked user won’t be able to tag you on Venmo or request funds from you too. 

How to Unblock Someone on Venmo

If you blocked someone by mistake or are just unblocking someone you had on the block list for a long time, you can find them in your settings. 

Head to the Me tab in Venmo and click on the settings button in the upper right hand corner. Scroll down until you see a button that says Privacy and click on it.

The Privacy button allows you to review your past transactions, friends list, and your blocked list. Click on Blocked Users to unblock someone.

venmo blocked users

Blocked Users will show you everyone you have blocked on Venmo.

Click on a user to pull up their transactions with you and click the three dots in the upper right hand corner. The only option you’ll have is to unblock them.

venmo unblock user

Venmo doesn’t want you making any hasty decisions, so before you unblock someone, they’ll give you a pop-up notification letting you know exactly what will happen if you do.

If you unblock someone, they’ll be able to send you funds and request them from you. They’ll also be able to tag you in their posts and find you in the search bar.

Finally, Venmo won’t notify them that you unblocked them and they won’t get a friend request from you either.

Both the blocking and unblocking processes are simple on Venmo. Whether you need to block someone, or erase your mistake and unblock them without them knowing, Venmo makes it easy. 

More Useful Articles About Venmo

About the Author

Lead Researcher, Digital Banking in the U.S. at TopMobileBanks

Branson Knowles is a former banker and current writer at TopMobileBanks.com.

During his years banking, he helped his clients discover their financial freedom through smart savings and spending goals. He started as a teller before becoming a banker and obtaining his federal licenses, furthering his clients' on their financial journeys.

After becoming one of the top producing bankers in the state, Branson decided it was time to pursue his own financial freedom. He started writing freelance finance articles before joining TopMobileBanks.com, breaking down banking like only an ex-banker could.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Featured On:
forbes logo
usnews logo
wall street journal
yahoo finance
marketwatch
techcrunch logo
world finance
bbc logo
gobankingrates
venturebeat
thestreet logo